Russian Jack

Our spacious apartment homes offer comfortable living close to UAA, APU, Providence Hospital, Alaska Native Medical Center, Elmendorf AFB, and Ft Richardson. Russian Jack offers nearby bike paths, parks, bus routes, walking trails, restaurants, and easy access to downtown.

Choose from spacious one or two bedroom apartment homes, with fireplaces, fully equipped kitchens, private balconies or patios, and extra storage. Select homes include washer and dryer. Russian Jack is a pet friendly community!

Ratings & Reviews

Overall Rating

3.00(26 reviews)73.1% of customers recommend this property

Rating Per Category

Parking
Noise
Grounds
Construction
Maintenance
Staff

Resident Reviews

Satisfactorysubmitted by Ricci A. - |Recommended: YesThat the rooms are neat, but small. The walls need to be soundproof, but other wise it is a good place to live.
response from property -Hi there Ricci, Thank you for taking your time to provide feedback of your residency with us online. We value hearing from you along with your choice to make your home here with us at the Russian Jack community. Kind regards, Kristie - Weidner Customer Service
Great Locationsubmitted by Clintonette G. - |Recommended: YesGreat location, I would like to see better security on the apartment doors, a dead bolt on the door just doesn't ease my comfort all too well.
response from property -Hello Clintonette, Thank you for taking the time to post.   We read all of the reviews with the goal to improve the experience of living in a Weidner community for our residents.  Please know that we value hearing your feedback along with your choice to make your home with us here at the Russian Jack Apartment Homes. Kind regards, Kristie - Weidner Customer Service
Oksubmitted by Andrew S. - |Recommended: NoAlright
response from property -Hello Andrew, We appreciate hearing from you and if you have interest in elaborating on your post, please do not hesitate to connect with your local on-site team at (907.337.5312 or russianjack@Weidner.com) or with us here in the Customer Service department so that we can find out what sort of issues you may be experiencing and take steps to work toward improvement for you. We can be reached at 855.411.9343 or via email at customerservice@weidner.com at your earliest opportunity. Kristie - Weidner Customer Service
Great staff needs to update online payment infosubmitted by Bobbie H. - |Recommended: YesPostive note It's a quiet complex, Great office staff and polite residents. On the other hand when I went to pay my rent online it had my old apartment. Not my current apartment number. So when I paid my rent the payment went to the wrong apartment number. But I have complete confidence that they will get it fixed.
response from property -Hello Bobbie, Great to hear from you and my apologies for any inconvenience regarding your online payment. I can be sure to connect with the on-site team to be sure that this has been rectified for you. Thank you for choosing to make your home here with us at the Russian Jack community. Kind regards, Kristie - Weidner Customer Service
It's okaysubmitted by John B. - |Recommended: YesIt's fairly quiet and lots of space on balconies
response from property -Hi there John, We appreciate the 4 star rating and thanks so much for your recommendation of the Russian Jack community! Take good care, Kristie - Weidner Customer Service
APTS submitted by Barbara R. - |Recommended: YesLiving at Russian Jack Apt is less stressful than most other Apts.
response from property -Hello Barbara, I'm so glad to hear that living at the Russian Jack community has been less stressful for you! We value hearing your feedback along with your choice to make your home here with us at a Weidner community. Take care, Kristie - Weidner Customer Service
Living at Russian Jack Apartmentssubmitted by Christina M. - |Recommended: NoWhen I first moved in, it was very quiet and clean inside and outside . I liked it, didn't mind the 80's kitchen and bathroom so much ... Then after about 6 months, you would hear arguing, trash everywhere, I found a used needle out in the grass around my apartment after the snow went away, and there happened to be a bunch of people running out of the building where the office was located in and they were yelling really really loud. The police did come by an hour later, but everyone was gone by then. I did not feel safe at that point. The inside of the building was not being cleaned anymore, trash in the parking lots and street areas. On the side of the apartment complex there are blue condos, that turned horrible. It was like the trash was never picked up, mattresses out just laying around where cars should be parked. Above me, it sounded like a couple upstairs arguing every night and then you could hear like there was domestic violence happening, so I called 911. Of course the woman was gone by the time they got there. The couple moved out the next month. I was living alone and I very much want to feel safe where I am living. The last 6 months I was there of the 15 months in total, was a horrible experience. Inside the building, when people would move they left what they didn't want to take with them right inside at the door. People would take their trash out, and if the bag busted they wouldn't pick up. Just leave it there at the elevator. People started leaving out their empty fast food bags by the elevator as well. They started using the trash cans in the laundry rooms as their own trash bags. There was one afternoon, I came in and there was this man standing by the elevator, and I had not seem him before. I said hello, and turned down the hall to my apartment, which was right there. I came back out an hour later, and the man was still there and this time he asked me for a cigarette. I asked him if he lived there, and he said oh I am just waiting on someone to pick me up. Residents would leave the front door open with a rock to jam it open. They have a door system that allows a guest to ring you to let you know they were there. It was broken since day one moving in. The office changed the locks several times, and I mean several times. So when I would come home after work, I could not get into the building that I lived in. That was very frustrating. I doubt the company will post this on their website as one of the reviews. But, this was my experience.
response from property -Hello Christina, Thank you for taking the time to post feedback of your residency online. We read all of the reviews with the goal to improve the experience of living in a Weidner community for our residents and I am so sorry for any frustration you had experienced. We have had the buzzer system fixed and we have also contracted with Signal 88 Security to patrol the community at various times during the week in addition to replacing the light fixtures on the the outside of the buildings so that the property is well lit. Please know that we value hearing your feedback and your choice to reside with us for a period of time. Kind regards, Kristie - Weidner Customer Service
Small and expensivesubmitted by Cheri R. - |Recommended: NoMy biggest issue is that smoking is allowed, and the units are so close together that smoke gets in through my windows and door. Either smoking should be confined to one building, or people should only be allowed to smoke in their unit not on their balcony. Also, if I had known that smoking was allowed, I would not have rented here. I should have been informed prior to renting. What if I was allergic The staff here have been unwilling to get the person upstairs to stop dropping his ashes on my porch below. Some other recommendations more dog poop bag stations, fines for people who don't pick up their dog's poop, laundry card refill stations either in the laundry room or foyer, more washers dryers - only 4 in each bldg. - seriously
response from property -Hello Cheri, I'm Kristie from the Customer Service department and my apologies on any confusion pertaining to the smoking policy at the community. We do have some communities that are advertised as smoke free (http://www.weidner.com/smoke-free-apartments2) but we do allow smoking at this particular community. I have connected with the Community Director and she will be reaching out to you discuss your concerns. Thanks you for providing feedback and for choosing the Russian Jack community to call your home. Kind regards, Kristie - Weidner Customer Service
21submitted by Elizabeth (. - |Recommended: YesIt's nice, and in a secure building.
response from property -Hello Beth, Great to hear from you and thanks so much for the recommendation! We value your feedback along with your choice to reside at the Russian Jack Community. Kind regards, Kristie - Weidner Customer Service
Great.submitted by Taylor B. - |Recommended: YesI love this property. Our apartment is fantastic and we couldn't complain about the apartment itself. Though we hate the fact that rent is due exactly on the first with no additional days for leeway. Not everyone gets paid on the first of the month. There are some months where it gets sticky. I feel as if the place actually took that into consideration it would have a lot more happy tenants.
response from property -Hello Taylor, Thank you for taking the time to post and provide feedback of your residency at Russian Jack. My apologies for any frustration that you have experienced by the standard practice of needing to pay rent on the 1st of the month as I can understand that not everyone is paid on the 1st. This property does have a grace period and any late fees are applied on the 3rd. I am glad to hear that overall, you are enjoying your apartment home and we appreciate your choice to make your home here with us at a Weidner community. Take good care, Kristie - Weidner Customer Service
I love itsubmitted by Christine M. - |Recommended: YesThe area is great, the staff is very responsive and the apartments are small. Office often closed during business hours.
response from property -Hello Christine, Thank you for posting your feedback online and for letting us know that you are loving your apartment home at the Russian Jack community! Take care, Kristie - Weidner Customer Service
Help Ussubmitted by Elisebeth H. - |Recommended: NoThere is one major concern, my husband and live in Unit C25. At Russian Jack. There is another tenant that is allowing there dog defficate and pee in the hallway we live in. I have reported it the manager, however they have not done anything. Saying that they need to catch the person to do anything. I have picked up and removed several piles of poop.
response from property -Hello Elisebeth, I know that this review is a bit older but I did want to connect with you to thank you for your feedback and to extend on my apologies as I am so sorry to hear that you have had this experience as I can understand that a situation of this nature would be frustrating. I have connected with the on-site team and it seems that you folks have been in contact and that the office is in process with a plan to work toward improvement. Please do keep us in the loop and thank you for posting your concerns. Please know that we value hearing your feedback along with your choice to make your home here with us at the Russian Jack community. Kind regards, Kristie- Weidner Customer Service
Review of Russian Jacksubmitted by Kenneth B. - |Recommended: YesWalls are little thin. Parking is ok. Space is a little small but doable. Overall I would recommend to single people with no kids or military.
If I were to rate it 5submitted by Denice A. - |Recommended: Yesit is OK as long as the children are supervised and not running up and the stairs and people are not playing loud music when they pull up to the building, and dogs are not barking half the night. The two thing that I can say that is really good is that the maintenance is always prompt to fix things and that the property is well maintained.
B19 The office works very hard to fix any issues.submitted by Christina R. - |Recommended: YesIt's alright. The other tenents are very nice.