Lakeside Apartments

Lakeside Apartment Homes in Mountlake Terrace is upscale living in the perfect location. Built along a spring-fed lake with cherry trees, ducks and geese, Lakeside offers every convenience in a park-like setting. The location is close to I-5, Hwy 99, Alderwood Mall and 15 minutes from Seattle. Lakeside is a very special place for you to enjoy comfort, convenience, privacy, and space. Like all Weidner communities, each home comes standard with unbeatable customer service! Find more about Mountlake Terrace's best kept secret! We would love to show you our beautiful homes.

Ratings & Reviews

Overall Rating

4(62 reviews)82.3% of customers recommend this property

Rating Per Category

Parking
Noise
Grounds
Construction
Maintenance
Staff

Resident Reviews

Worst apartment I have lived ever. I will NOT recommend this property to anybodysubmitted by Sarad B. - |Recommended: NoWorst apartment I have lived ever. Move in condition was terrible the toilet and bathtub was already stained, the most worst thing is that when you move out they will charge you lot of money for comprehensive cleaning. The hallways to my apartment always smell really bad due to trash being left in hallway, and smokers do inside apartments and hallways. Gym center is just for the name..... The floor in the entrance is dirty probably against safety standards. They charge extra money saying covered parking, but it is so congested and almost like open. Staffs are ignorant especially in emergency call. They behave so rudely once you decided moving out. I will strongly NOT recommend this apartment complex to anyone. If I had option to rate below ZERO, I would rate negative for all
response from property -Hello Sarad, We welcome hearing from our residents even when it is not a glowing review. My apologies that you had a frustrating experience. I can be sure to connect with the on-site teams regarding the items mentioned and you are correct, we do have charges for cleaning upon move out if they are necessary. If you have any questions on any move out charges that may have been applied to your account, please do not hesitate to connect with me and we can go over them together. I can be reached at 855.411.9343 or via email at customerservice@weidner.com. Kind regards, Kristie - Weidner Customer Service
Depends on your budget.submitted by Nicholas F. - |Recommended: NoIf 1,200 for a two bedroom is a deal for you then go for it. This is the first apartment I've lived in and after 6 months I have a pretty good idea of the establishments quality. Heating works fine, plumbing works fine, never had a lack of hot water either. Only complaint on the utility side of things is that depending on what apartment you have, the dumpster can be quite a ways away I usually have to throw my garbage in my car and drive it over since its winter and rainy... In terms of upkeep, the paint job on the initial move in was atrocious drips everywhere and its plain white , and makes me wonder why I had to wait so long for them to get the apartment ready . The doors, moldings, cabinets, and counter tops look like they're from the 90's, yet when we did the walk through the lady said ooo, this one has new everything. Appliances work well and haven't had much of an issue with cooking space either, but don't expect to be cooking with two people in the kitchen at once... Living room is almost too big, I had to buy a giant couch just to fill in some of the extra space still a lot of extra space. Walk in closet is a big hit for the Fiancee and fits her entire wardrobe with virtually no dressers needed. Internet wise, I've never really had an issue with losing connection, and when I do it's typically comcast going down they are only pretty much only wired for comcast by the way. The whole having to use lamps for your lights is VERY annoying as it takes away 3 4 of the wall outlets in each room, expect having to buy plenty of power strips. Laundry is a pain as the machines are expensive to use and are taken up a lot of the time each building has its own set of laundry machines on the first floor. The staff feel very robotic, I have yet to talk with someone who actually seems like a normal human being, and it's very concerning that they run their business in a way that seems to indoctrinate people.. But hey, that's just my opinion. Also if you plan on paying via money order DON'T COME HERE I had a couple unfortunate circumstances that cause me to be late on rent twice, and have been forced to pay via this moneygram system where you have to wait on hold at an atm for 20 minutes just to have some guy activate the atm for you to pay on.. 4.00 fee sucks too. Other than all that, there is always parking, even though sometimes you have to park at the edge of the lot when its late. and the outdoor grounds especially the lake area are quite nice. Not good for first time people.
response from property -Hi Nicholas, Thank you for your feedback and giving us the opportunity to improve. I will be sure the team gets a copy of your review. If you would like to go over your concerns please feel free to call me at 85-411-9343 or email me at customerservice@weidner.com. Take care, Wendee - Customer Service
Mediocre submitted by Christine D. - |Recommended: YesI think it is just fine for young families with children. However it is not the most private nor adult no children oriented property
It's gone down in the last yearssubmitted by Matthew S. - |Recommended: YesThere are 7 people living in every apartment with about 4 cars per households so parking is a nightmare. Had our two cars broken into twice, and apparently there was a stabbing recently
Goodsubmitted by Linda K. - |Recommended: YesGood but the trash area is a mess. The apt kitchen and bathroom are small.
Affordable and comfortablesubmitted by Andrew R. - |Recommended: YesBeing the most affordable apartment complex that we were able to find we were less than optimistic about this place, but we were pleasantly surprised at how nice the apartment is. Some of the fixtures need to be updated and they need to install lights in the living room and bedroom but aside from that we have not had any major issues. The noise level is a bit high in summer with the kids being out of school but that is generally every apartment that you are going to live in, aside from a retirement home. The staff is friendly and courteous and helped me transition into the apartment very easily and comfortably. The only real issue I have had is parking, being that I work graveyard shift it can be hard to find parking but only on Sundays. All in all it is a pretty great place to live.
Not worth the money submitted by Samuel C. - |Recommended: NoDon't The grounds are always dirty, the neighborhood noisy, the building is old, falling apart, no elevator, no fire escape, no fire alarm. The day we went to talk with the manager about why she was trying to raise our rent by 400 per month, even though we are good tenants, she didn't even bother to comb her hair for the appointment. Parking is a first-come-first-served nightmare so those of us who don't work 9-5 can't get a spot anywhere near our apt. No contingency plan for when power goes out. Lease specifically forbids drug use but they don't enforce it. After I moved in the local police dept told me to watch out, they get a LOT of calls for this complex for theft, drugs, vandalism...
Nice apartment, Good Staff, Move-in Problems Roaches, Messy, Admin submitted by Christian S. - |Recommended: NoIt's a nice enough apartment complex. The unit is spacious and enjoyable. Noise levels aren't too bad, and parking is sparse, but overall fairly nice. The issue is that on move-in the apartment hadn't been cleaned there are still markings on my wall from the previous tenant, that even after a coat of paint are still clearly visible. There is still a strange odor from the mold and such that was throughout the kitchen, and bathroom. And a slough of other issues that were discovered - but mainly the cockroach problem. I still see cockroaches almost daily in the kitchen. I don't know if there's a massive infestation in the walls or what but at this point I feel like I won't stop seeing cockroaches until my lease is up and I move out. There was a brief period after exterminators showed up that we didn't see any, but they are back - and larger and more in the open than before...
response from property -Hi Christian, I am so glad to hear that everything was taken care of to your satisfaction. I hate that sometimes it can take a couple of treatments until the pests are completely eliminated. As for the odor from mold I was glad that there wasn't any. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve. Take care, Wendee - Customer Service
Great care of residentssubmitted by Colby S. - |Recommended: YesI have always had really quick and customer service oriented responses to my questions and maintenance requests. I even had a lot of help with an ongoing noise issue with a neighbor that helped stop the problem. The apartments could use updating as far as the quality level of the fixtures and so forth but I do appreciate that maintenance issues are dealt with in a timely manner. I have always enjoyed all my interactions with the staff here.
response from property -Hello Colby, Excellent to hear that the on-site teams are taking good care of you:) We appreciate hearing your feedback and wish you a happy holiday! Kind regards, Kristie - Customer Service
Good to live within the community.submitted by Boldbaatar N. - |Recommended: YesWe like the community and apartments and neighbors. But cleaning is so bad in M apartments. We didn't see anyone to clean in M apartment hall way and laundry.
response from property -Hi Boldbaatar, Thank you for the feedback. We are glad to hear it and love the opportunity to improve. I will be sure to pas this along to the team. Take care, Wendee - Customer Service
Shading Billing Practices and Lacking Operational Standardssubmitted by Tim H. - |Recommended: NoBILLING - Watch your portal charges and payments, especially if you pay rent early. Things are not posted in a timely manner or when you are charged. Everything is posted in the portal on the 1st, and late fees are charged on the 4th. My water was due on the 15th of every month, but was never posted on the portal until the 1st. On 2 separate occasions I paid the amount that was shown in the portal on the day before the 1st, but that was not the total of my bill. Both times I was charged twice as much as the bill. Warning you only have a 3 day window to pay these people. LACKING OPERATING PROCEDURES - Be sure to be present and have copies of all paperwork with signatures at all inspections they have. There are pre and post move out and other bizarre inspections. Get them to sign off before you leave. The apartment G108 that I moved into had flooded prior to my arrival and some of the carpet had permanent damage and staining. Eventhough on move in I passed on getting the carpet cleaned again and was promissed not to be changed for the carpet on move out by Dennis one of the managers, I still was charged. I'm lead to believe so, because I think it is mandatory and a legal obligation to provide a signed Move Out Inspection report by the rental agency along with a check for your Security Deposit difference. These people are ridiculous and I would never recommend this place to anyone.
response from property -Hello Tim, I'm Kristie from the Customer Service department and I thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns. You are correct that the balances do post at different times and we can be sure to continue to reinforce that information upon move in. If you have any questions about the posting or move out paperwork, please do not hesitate to connect with me. I can be reached at 855.411.9343 or via email at customerservice@weidner.com. Kind regards, Kristie - Customer Service
I love this place and my top floor 2 bedroom. submitted by Diana E. - |Recommended: YesHuge rooms, generous deck with huge slider, huge walk-in closet, dog friendly, beautiful grounds and pools, and lake with a beach and fountains. I'm a senior, and have lived here 4 years, and hope I never have to leave.
response from property -Hello Diana, I'm Kristie from the Customer Service department and I wanted to thank you for your review of your experience and for the 5 star rating! I am happy to hear that you are enjoying the property and we appreciate your choice to call Lakeside your home. Kind regards, Kristie - Customer Service
Nice apartments, convenient location, pricey for not having w/dsubmitted by Cristal S. - |Recommended: YesThe complex is nice. Apartment has a nice floor plan, large living room and balcony. Wish the larger apartments were cheaper and had washer and dryer in the unit. it would also be nice if there could be a laundry card refill machine in the laundry rooms.
Great unit with nice balcony and easy access to laundrysubmitted by Corilynne W. - |Recommended: YesI enjoy that the units are inside the buildings, kind of like a hotel. However, it can make other people's apartment smells drift into yours. Such as some tenants who smoke (on their balconies). But the upside is I don't have to walk out in the rain to do my laundry, it's just right down the hallway. I really do not enjoy when I walk out in the morning for work, and when I get home and it's dark. The outside lights in the parking lot do not provide enough light at all. There are not easy walking paths from the cars to the apartment buildings for when it's dark. I wish that the water and sewer bill was just included in the rent. I don't know how the management could help this, but it is very frustrating when tenants leave couches and beds outside the dumpster instead of just taking them to the thrift store.